---
title: Managing Roles
description: "### **Adding new Team Members and Admins** 1. Click on the Side bar menu 2. Click on Users 3. Click on Add New User button 4. Enter email address and permission type 5. Click Invite New User 6. A pre-populated…"
url: "https://www.overcasthq.com/docs/managing-roles/"
updated: "2021-03-22"
category: Admin
---

# Managing Roles

### **Adding new Team Members and Admins**

1. Click on the Side bar menu
2. Click on Users
3. Click on Add New User button
4. Enter email address and permission type
5. Click Invite New User
6. A pre-populated email will be sent to the new user with a direct link asking the user to authenticate themselves on the account

- Note: you cannot invite Collaborators from here - they must be invited from the Projects sections

 

### **Adding new Collaborators**

1. Click on the Side Bar menu
2. Click on Projects
3. Click on Invite Collaborator
4. Enter email address and assign upload and download permissions
5. Click Invite Collaborator
6. A pre-populated email will be sent to the new user with a direct link asking the user to authenticate themselves on the account for the specific project

 

### **Changing User Permissions**

From time to time it might be necessary to upgrade a user’s permissions, downgrade them, disable their access to the site or lock certain projects and remove their permission to view the project and the content.

 

### **Access Control - Changing Permissions:**

1. Click on the Side Bar Menu
2. Click on Users
3. Click the View button of the user you wish to change
4. Click Edit
5. Click Manage Permissions
6. Choose Permission Type
7. Click Change Permissions button

- **Note:** *if you downgrade a user’s permissions to collaborator status, you will be asked to choose which projects the user will have access to.*

 

### **Changing permissions on a Project by Project basis**

If you want to change permissions for who can see a project and you want to limit the number of Team Members who can see the project:

1. Click on the Side Bar Menu
2. Click on Projects
3. Choose the project you want to and click View Project
4. Click Edit
5. Click Manage Permissions
6. Click Lock This Project
7. Toggle on and off who has permission to view the project
8. Click Change Permissions button.

- **Note:***All Admins can see all projects. And any Team Member that creates a project will always be able to view their own projects.*
